Only Forever (1998)


The brilliant second album from Puressence, entitled Only Forever, arrived in August 1998. The “difficult second album” cliche befalling many bands seemed not to plague Puressence. The opening track Sharpen Up the Knives retained a lot of the moody, melancholic, raw emotion of much of the first album, while the second track (and leading single) This Feeling represented a much lighter and more upbeat sound, which would set the tone of the rest of the album.

Only Forever was well received by fans, and was much more radio friendly than its predecessor. As such, opening single This Feeling garnered interest from Radio 1 and MTV, creating some commercial success. This Feeling charted at #33, while the album charted (and peaked) at #36, the band’s highest chart positions to date. Stone Roses’ bassist Mani (one of the band’s heroes) is credited as the producer for the track Standing in Your Shadow.

Only Forever spawned two more singles; It Doesn’t Matter Anymore and the double A-side All I Want / Never Be the Same Again, charting at #47 and #39, respectively.

Click on a track listing to preview or purchase a track from the album.

Release Date 17 August 1998
Label Island Records
No. of Tracks 12
Track Listing
Track Title Chart Peak
1. Sharpen Up The Knives
2. This Feeling #33
3. It Doesn’t Matter Anymore #47
4. Street Lights
5. Standing In Your Shadow (’98 Version)
6. All I Want #39
7. Behind The Man
8. Never Be The Same Again #39
9. Hey Hey I’m Down
10. Past Believing
11. Turn The Lights Out When I Die
12. Gazing Down

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *